Ministries of India
Ministries of India



The Union Council of Ministers is the highest executive body of the Government of India. The council is responsible for exercising administrative authority in the nation and advising the president of India. It is chaired by the prime minister and consists of the heads of each of the executive government ministries.

The Government of India exercises its executive authority through a number of government ministries or departments of state. A ministry is composed of employed officials, known as civil servants, and is politically accountable through a minister. Most major ministries are headed by a Cabinet Minister, who sits in the Union Council of Ministers, and is typically supported by a team of junior ministers called the Ministers of State.

S. NoMinistryWebsite
1Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
2Ministry of AYUSH
3Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers 
4Ministry of Civil Aviation 
5Ministry of Coal 
6Ministry of Commerce and Industry 
7Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
8Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
9Ministry of Corporate Affairs
10Ministry of Culture
11Ministry of Defence 
12Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region
13Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation
14Ministry of Earth Sciences
15Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
16Ministry of External Affairs 
17Ministry of Finance
18Ministry of Food Processing Industries
19Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
20Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
21Ministry of Home Affairs 
22Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
23Ministry of Human Resource Development
24Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
25Ministry of Labour and Employment 
26Ministry of Law and Justice
27Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
28Ministry of Mines
29Ministry of Minority Affairs
30Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
31Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs
32Ministry of Panchayati Raj
33Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
34Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions
35Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
36Ministry of Planning
37Ministry of Power
38Ministry of Railways
39Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
40Ministry of Rural Development
41Ministry of Science and Technology
42Ministry of Shipping
43Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
44Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
45Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation
46Ministry of Steel
47Ministry of Textiles
48Ministry of Tourism
49Ministry of Tribal Affairs
50Ministry of Urban Development
51Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
52Ministry of Women and Child Development
53Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Key Terms:

  • administrative authority
  • ,
  • Cabinet Minister
  • ,
  • executive government
  • ,
  • Ministers
  • ,
  • Union Council of Ministers

Related Article


State and Union Territories

India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories, with a total of 36 entities. The states […]

Pradhanmantri Ujjwala Yojana

Pradhanmantri Ujjwala Yojana

Objectives Ujjwala Yojana is aimed at providing free LPG connections in the name of women in BPL (Below Poverty Line) […]



A district is a type of administrative division that, is managed by the local government. Across the world, areas known […]

Good Governance

Governance & Administration

India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary form of government which is federal in structure with […]


How to Install Bharat Operating System Solutions BOSS 9 Urja

घोंसला बना रहेगा | Ghosla Bana Rahega

Hindi Animated Story – Ghosla Bana Rahega | घोंसला बना रहेगा | Importance of Bird in Human Life

How to create azure container registry | How to create azure container instance | Azure ACI Tutorial

How to Deploy ASP.NET Web Application in Azure Kubernetes Services | Complete Tutorial | AKS

भारत ऑपरेटिंग सिस्टम (BOSS) को कैसे इनस्टॉल करें

मित्र का ऋण – mitr ka rin – friend’s loan – 4K Ultra HD Video