National Capital Region

The National Capital Region (NCR) in India is the designation for the conurbation or metropolitan area which encompasses the entire National Capital Territory of Delhi, which includes New Delhi, as well as urban areas surrounding it in neighboring states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan.
The four constituent Sub-Regions of NCR are as follows:

  1. The Haryana Sub-Region comprises thirteen districts: Faridabad, Gurgaon, Mewat, Rohtak, Sonepat, Rewari, Jhajjar, Panipat, Palwal, Mahendragarh (Narnaul), Bhiwani, Jind and Karnal.
  2. The Uttar Pradesh Sub-Region comprises seven districts: Meerut, Ghaziabad, Bulandshahr, Gautam Budh Nagar, Baghpat, Hapur, Muzaffarnagar.
  3. The Rajasthan Sub-Region comprises two districts: Bharatpur, Alwar
  4. Delhi, which constitutes about 2.9% of the land area of the Region.

Component Districts

A total of 20 districts in three neighbouring states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan along with whole of the National Capital Territory of Delhi constitute the National Capital Region (NCR) of India as defined in National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) Act, 1985. The areas and populations of these

Component districts are set out below

District State Area(km2) Capital
Delhi (NCT) 1,483  
Delhi Delhi 1,483 Delhi
UttarPradesh UttarPradesh 10,853  
Ghaziabad UttarPradesh 1,179 Ghaziabad
GautamBudhNagar UttarPradesh 1,282 GautamBudhNagar
Bulandshahr UttarPradesh 3,719 Bulandshahr
Baghpat UttarPradesh 1,321 Baghpat
Hapur UttarPradesh -- Hapur
Muzaffarnagar UttarPradesh 4,008 Muzaffarnagar
Haryana Haryana 25,327  
Faridabad Haryana 741 Faridabad
Gurgaon Haryana 1,258 Gurgaon
Mewat Haryana 1,507 Nuh
Rohtak Haryana 1,745 Rohtak
Sonipat Haryana 2,122 Sonipat
Rewari Haryana 1,594 Rewari
Jhajjar Haryana 1,834 Jhajjar
Panipat Haryana 1,268 Panipat
Palwal Haryana 1,359 Palwal
Mahendragarh Haryana 1,899 Narnaul
Bhiwani Haryana 4,778 Bhiwani
Jind Haryana 2,702 Jind
Karnal Haryana 2,702 Karnal
Rajasthan Rajasthan 13,446  
Bharatpur Rajasthan 5,066 Bharatpur
Alwar Rajasthan 8,380 Alwar

Counter magnets Areas

Counter-magnet towns are identified as those that can be developed as alternative centres of growth and attract migrants to them rather than Delhi. These towns are located in six states-Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab, in addition to Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan, which are already part of the national capital region.

The criteria for selecting counter magnet towns are: that they should not be within approximately 250 kilometres from Delhi, should have their own established roots and potential of growth and should not be centres of either religious, strategic or environmental importance.

These are:

Haryana state

  • Hisar, 160 km
  • Ambala, 200 km
  • Karnal (now in NCR), 125 km

Madhya Pradesh state

  • Gwalior, 320 km

Punjab state

  • Patiala, 230 km

Rajasthan state

  • Jaipur, 260 km
  • Kota, 525 km

Uttar Pradesh state

  • Bareily, 250 km
  • Kanpur, 470 km
  • Moradabad, 160 km


  • Dehradun, 240 km

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Copyright & Trademark