Chennai Metropolitan Region

The Chennai Metropolitan Area is the fourth most populous, and the fourth largest metropolitan area in India and is the 30th most populous in the world (as of 2015). The CMA consists of the metropolitan city of Chennai (Madras) and its suburbs. The Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority (CMDA) is the nodal agency that handles town planning and development within the metro area. Since 1974, an area encompassing 1189 km2 around the city has been designated as the Chennai Metropolitan Area (CMA) and the CMDA has been designated as the authority to plan the growth of the city and the area around it.


The CMA has an area of 1,189 km² spread over three districts. It includes the whole of the Chennai District, along with the Ambattur, Gummidipoondi, Madhavaram, Ponneri, Poonamallee and Tiruvallur taluks of the Tiruvallur District, and the Alandur Kanchipuram, Sholinganallur, Sriperumbudur and Tambaram taluks of the Kanchipuram District.

The City of Chennai (not to be confused with the Chennai District) currently covers an area of 426 km2 and now includes adjoining sections of Tiruvallur and Kanchipuram Districts along with the 176 km2 of the Chennai District. Prior to the expansion of the city's boundaries in September 2011, the city of Chennai (administered by the Chennai Corporation) fell completely within the Chennai District. There hasn't been any published update for the metropolitan population for the 2011 census, but the 3 districts in their entirety were home to over 12 million people in the 2011 census . Chennai City Limit Covers West side Upto Poonamallee Taulk,Karanodai Near Redhills,Towards East Side ECR and OMR Upto Kovalam Kelambakkam Region,North side Covers Manali Region and Minjur,Towards South City Limity Covers Upto Vandalur Gate way of Chennai.Rest not Covers within Real Chennai City Region.

The Chennai Metropolitan Area is set to be expanded further, incorporating the entire districts of Tiruvallur and Kancheepuram, and the Arakkonam taluk of the Vellore district.

S.No Agency Responsibility
1 Chennai Corporation (Madras Corporation),Municipalities and Panchayats Civic management in their area of jurisdiction
2 Tamil Nadu Housing Board provision of housing, infra structure and livelihood plots and ready built houses, Sites and Services schemes
3 Metropolitan Transport Corporation Bus Transport
4 Southern Railway Chennai suburban railway and Chennai MRTS
5 Chennai City Traffic Police Traffic Management Schemes
6 Tamil Nadu Electricity Board Electricity generation and supply
7 Public Works Department Implementation & Maintenance of macro drainage system
8 Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority Urban planning, co -ordination of project implementation
9 Chennai MetroWater Supply and Sewage Board Water Supply & Sewerage facilities for CMA
10 Tamil Nadu Slum Clearance Board Provision of housing, infrastructure and livelihood programs in slum areas
11 Aavin Co operative society Providing Milk through co-operative society to the people of Chennai

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Copyright & Trademark